Water

There was a time in America when we could afford to truly believe what was written in our daily newspapers, and the networks for that matter. Sadly, those days are gone.  Through the years, we have somehow become less innocent and yet more aware of what at the time seemed like minor problems of the world.  Take water for instance.  We lived in this bubble of perpetual convenience that has never needed to be dealt with, up to now!

As we became more of a consuming society and less of a manufacturing country we became more aware of the life of advantage we live in.  We also became more aware developing nations and the horrid existences they presently face on a daily basis. You and I have the convenience to get up and change the channel or this web page that confronts you to something less depressing, yet as we do ten children will die in 30 seconds from now simply because they are denied the most simplest of the basics of life, water!

I drink you Caesar.  I wash in your galactic atoms Cleopatra.  I sweat for your words Aristotle.  I feel Abraham’s prophecies in my bloodstream as I quench my thirst on Giotto’s water pail for his colors.  You have nurtured me in my journeys on this corporeal realm.  Akhenaton, I pass your products back in the stream of life’s enduring by-products.  You are me as I am the culmination of you, mere elements of finite humanity that rides the winds of change.

I pray to those that have gone before and to those who have yet to pass that we take heed of the suffering of those who for no other reason than being born who suffer the most.  We come into this life with our own spiritual lessons.  We take only those things that make the human spirit stronger.  Why is it that we refuse to learn as a society that we are not as separated as we wish to believe and that all humanity is intrinsically connected, whether we believe it or not.  Finally, also why is it the most difficult thing for us to comprehend that it is the simplest and most important things in life are invisible, and the second most important thing is Water?  Water is life.  Life is water and people like us.

 

About batai52

Brother, father, photographer, filmmaker, writer, artist, veteran, Iroquois/Scottish, aquarian and lover of Martinis "so dry you have to blow the dust off." There are many I admire: Maya Angelou, Ezra Pound, Morris Dees, Cornel West and Alan Alda (Hawkeye Pierce M*SH) for his art and activism. A true activist. Me? Heading towards being a feminist and I am working on my own human condition. Onward Together!
This entry was posted in THOUGHTS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Water

  1. Water is our most basic nutrient. We can live without food for weeks, but without water, we survive only days.

Leave a Reply

